Trouble reading this email? Click here
President Email

In case you were not able to attend today’s Faculty/Staff meeting, I want to share the gist of my remarks. Today, we are pleased to announce the four pillars of the University’s new strategic plan.

These four pillars, or goals, are as follows:

  • To provide a premier undergraduate and graduate education that offers a global perspective and is characterized by outstanding teaching, high-quality scholarship and distinctive curricular and co-curricular programs.
  • To increase the University’s productivity and innovation in research, scholarship and creative activities that impact socio-economic development.
  • To enrich the learning and work environment by providing an accepting, inclusive community that attracts and supports a diverse faculty, staff and student body.
  • To provide opportunities and resources that promote work-life balance and enhance the recruitment and retention of outstanding faculty and staff.

The University’s mission and vision will remain the same, but how we achieve that mission and vision will change as it is captured through the goals of our faculty, students and staff. These goals will move us in the direction of where we aspire to be.

Many voices were heard throughout our strategic planning process. We received input from students, faculty, staff, alumni, parents, retirees and community members. This is everyone’s plan. We are all the University, and we are grateful for the valuable ideas and insights that all of these groups and individuals provided to us.

In particular, I want to thank our Strategic Planning Council, which has been led by Interim Provost Kevin Whitaker. They have been working since December.

Milla Boschung Dean Human Environmental Sciences
Jennifer Clark Past-president Professional Staff Assembly
Lynda Gilbert Vice President Financial Affairs and
Treasurer for The University of Alabama
Todd Hester Past-president Office, Clerical, & Technical Staff Assembly
Peter Hlebowitsh Dean College of Education
Burcu Keskin Assoc. Professor Information Systems, Statistics, and Management
Systems (C&BA)
Michael Kreger Professor Civil, Construction, & Environmental Engineering
John Lochman Professor Psychology
Donna Meester President Faculty Senate
Rosalind Moore Director Undergraduate & Graduate Student Involvement
Carl Pinkert Vice President Research and Economic Development
Samory Pruitt Vice President Community Affairs
Marie Robbins Assoc. Athletics Dir. Intercollegiate Athletics
Elliot Spillers Past-president Student Government Association

I hope you’ll join me in thanking them for their dedication and the countless hours they have spent on this important endeavor. Their work will now center on the next phase, which is discussing the objectives for each pillar before we roll out the full plan this fall.

We have much more work to do in the coming months, but we are well on our way. Thank you for your participation, and Roll Tide!

Stuart R. Bell